WHY WE EXIST

Posted: August 9, 2010 in Healthy Stuff, Life
Tags: , , , ,

What?!?!? Am I really going there? Well, I can’t help it, dammit. My new facebook friend, Martin Olson, friend of old friend, Danny Jacob, asks the question on his wild & wonderful website, and I had the unmitigated chutzpah to respond that I knew why. But it’s probably much less about chutzpah and more about my very simplistic philosophy. After years of being “gently nudged” & “whacked on the head,” as Martin says, and really trying to pay attention, this is my existential belief:

We are here to love, create & evolve, probably in that order. We have a responsibility as creatures of intellect & emotion to do those things. And according to my ill-defined theory of reincarnation, we get plenty of chances to do it right & well until we get it really right and then…

The night before my dad died (9/11/00), I looked up at a little page a day calendar on my desk shelf and the quote of the day was from the poet Rumi. “When I die I shall soar with the angels and when I die with the angels, what I shall become you cannot imagine.”

More than that, we’ll have to talk.

Comments
  1. That’s more of an answer than I have. I have never been able to cultivate any sort of response to that question. In due time perhaps. Love the quote.

  2. Caryn Rae says:

    You just haven’t been nudged & whacked enough yet and that’s a good thing.

    The quote took my breath away.

  3. Teen says:

    Nicely put Caryn. I am still contemplating my exact beliefs and actually this little bit helps. Love You Teen

  4. Caryn Rae says:

    Thanks, Teen. So glad I could help a little. I love you too.

  5. chris says:

    Great Stuff Caryn Rae-Keep it coming

    Your Number One Fan Always

    ILU

    CMC

Leave a Reply

